Delete task performs a 'soft' delete on regular, active tasks, i.e. the task status is changed to 'Deleted'.
The task is still available to view by displaying status 'Deleted'.
In order to then permanently remove such tasks, please go to File/Maintenance and do Purge Deleted Tasks.
Archived tasks are deleted immediately (after a warning).